## TAX RATE RESOLUTION (ORDINANCE)

A RESOLUTION (ORDINANCE) LEVYING AN ANNUAL AD VALOREM TAX FOR THE YEAR 2021 SETTING SPECIFIC TAX RATES, APPLICABLE TO ALL REAL, AND PERSONAL PROPERTY SITUATED WITHIN CANTON INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT.

WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees of the Canton Independent School District has prepared and adopted a budget estimating revenues and expenditures for the 2021-22 school year on August 16, 2021, and

WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees has complied with all Truth In Taxation requirements for notification to the public of the proposed tax rate; and

THEREFORE, NOW LET IT BE ORDAINED AND ORDERED by the Board of Trustees of Canton Independent School District of Van Zandt County, Texas:

- 1. That an ad valorem tax rate of \$1.303 per \$100 of taxable valuation, as said values were approved by the appraisal review board on July 22, 2021, be and the same is hereby levied for the school year 2021-22 on all real property, and personal property located and situated within the confines and boundaries of Canton Independent School District as of January 1, 2021.
- 2. That the above SPECIFIED AD VALOREM TAX RATE BE DISTRIBUTED AS FOLLOWS:
  - A. \$0.8720 rate for local maintenance and operation fund.
  - B. \$0.431 rate for debt service, bonded indebtedness, interest and sinking fund.
- 3. Any person failing to pay taxes on or before January 31, 2022 shall be subject to the maximum penalties thereon allowed by law to be collected on delinquent taxes. All delinquent taxes shall bear interest at the highest per annum interest rate allowed by law to be collected on delinquent taxes and shall bear interest from the date of delinquency until paid.

THIS TAX RATE WILL RAISE MORE TAXES FOR MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS THAN LAST YEAR'S RATE (due to the values increasing). THE TAX RATE WILL EFFECTIVELY BE RAISED BY 8.585% (above the No New Revenue Rate) AND WILL RAISE TAXES FOR MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS ON A \$100,000 HOME BY APPROXIMATELY \$75.33.

Kenneth Pruitt, President	Julie Stern, Secretary	
Josh Wilkerson, Vice President	Dr. Leslea Evans	
Matthew Dunn	Clay Nicklas	
Jac	k Thelen	